In Rostov the first Episcopal faculty, the first Uspenski cathedral (991) was based. Rostov was the constant participant of all political events connected to activity of Grand dukes, Tsar Ivan Grozny, Romanov House. Rostov repeatedly was exposed to invasions, destructions and fires. Last destruction occured at the beginning of 17th century when the city practically has been destroyed. Since 17th century in Rostov began intensive construction of the temples, monasteries, public and residential buildings which are preserved till today.
The most magnificent of them are Rostov Kremlin and Spaso-Yakovlevsky monastery.
Rostov Kremlin is a pearl of Russian architecture of the 17th century built according to a single artistic pattern on the initiative of Metropolitan Jonah Sysoevich, built by Pyotr Dossayev, a brilliant artist. The Dormition Cathedral with its five majestic onion domes is the ensemble's oldest structure originated in 16th century adjoining it towers the Belfry (1682-1687) with a unique set of bells. The metropolis itself spreads out near the Dormition Cathedral built to a single pattern and made up of churches, cathedrals, chambers, dwellings, store-houses, etc. All the structures are encircled with stone and towers which make the metropolis to resemble a Russian Kremlin.
Spaso-Yakovlevsky monastery is another significant attraction of Rostov the Great which must be seen by everyone traveling to the city for the first time.
On the western suburb of Rostov, near lake Nero, at the end of14th century has been based Yakovlevsky monastery.
It plays an especially important role in a panorama of the town where architects of several generations skillfully combined constructions of 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Among them is a remarkable sample of Russian classicism - Church of St.George (Dmitrievsky cathedral). This church was constructed and decorated on means of Russian count Sheremetjev with his masters. This cathedral is one of the most considerable monuments of Russian culture in Rostov. The Church of the Immaculate Conception is based on the territory of the monastery. Founded in 1686 it is famous by its beautiful interior. It was based by the widow of the Rostov prince Vasilko Maria who was burned there in 1271. In 1764 it has been abolished and attributed to Yakovlevsky monastery. The monastery was visited by imperial family; the photo of that time was kept. Nowadays, Spaso-Yakovlevsky monastery is man's monastery. The prior father Evstafy made all efforts to revive the former time.